ACerS Scholarships and Awards

The American Ceramic Society Sections, Divisions and Classes offer many student scholarships, awards and contests. Please see below for deadlines and contact information for each scholarship/award.

ACerS Basic Science Division

Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) Awards

The annual Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) awards recognize the outstanding achievements of graduate students in materials science and engineering. The award is open to all graduate students who are making an oral presentation in any symposium or session at MS&T.  

There are two deadlines to be aware of for this award:

  • Deadline to submit abstracts to MS&T
  • Deadline to apply for GEMS award

ACerS Electronics Division

Lewis C. Hoffman Scholarship

The Electronics Division invites applications for the Lewis C. Hoffman Scholarship. The purpose of the $2000 tuition award is to encourage academic interest and excellence among undergraduate students in the area of ceramics/materials science and engineering.

The award will be given to a junior or senior student who has acquired a total of at least 80 semester credits or equivalent quarter credits at the time of the application and is still a full-time undergraduate student by the time of the award (October).

The winner will be selected based on:

  • Total GPA, Science GPA (to be verified in faculty recommendation letter)
  • PSAT/SAT/ACT scores, if available
  • Recommendation letter from a faculty member in the department
  • Extracurricular activities
  • A 500-word essay on a to be determined topic

Deadline to submit nominations is May 15, annually. 

Student Presentation Awards

Each year at the Electronic Materials and Applications (EMA) meeting, the Electronics Division presents best student presentation awards in two categories: best oral presentations and best poster presentations. First, second and third place awards are presented in each category.

The awards consist of $250, $150 and $100 for first, second and third places, respectively, and a certificate. In the event that there is more than one author, the award is given to the main author of the presentation. 

ACerS Glass and Optical Materials Division

Alfred R. Cooper Scholars Award

The Glass & Optical Materials Division of The American Ceramic Society invites nominations for the Cooper Scholars Award. This undergraduate award is named in honor of the late Professor Alfred R. Cooper, Jr., member of the faculty at Case Western Reserve University and a prominent contributor to the understanding of many glass phenomena and glass problems.

The Cooper Scholars Award recipient will receive an award plaque and a check for $500.

The student can be from any country. Membership in The American Ceramic Society, the Glass & Optical Materials Division, or Material Advantage is not required.

Norbert J. Kreidl Award

The Norbert J. Kreidl Award for Young Scholars, recognizing research excellence in glass science, is open to all degree-seeking graduate students (MSc or PhD) or those who have graduated within a twelve month period of the yearly GOMD meeting. A letter from a faculty advisor verifying compliance to this rule must accompany the application. The selection is based on an extended abstract of the nominee’s work (approximately 2,000 words plus figures) relevant to interests of the Division.

The winner of the Kreidl Award will be asked to present his/her lecture at a special Awards Session at the yearly GOMD meeting. The presentation may be co-authored by a faculty advisor but the technical work must be conducted by the student. The winning presentation will be given by the student only.

The winner receives a check for $500, a certificate, and a commemorative glass piece.

Attendance at the GOMD meeting to present the Kreidl lecture is a requirement, so only those who can attend the meeting should apply.

Deadline for applications is January 21, annually.

ACerS Pittsburgh Section

J. Earl Frazier Memorial Scholarship

The J. Earl Frazier Memorial Scholarship, $2000 minimum, is awarded annually to a member of a junior class at one of the colleges providing an accredited undergraduate ceramic science and/or engineering curriculum and whose home residence is within the geographical confines of the Pittsburgh Section.

Scholarship Requirements | Scholarship Application Form

For more information, contact: Curt Zimmer, 127 Shoshone Trail, Mercer, PA 16137

Deadline to submit applications is May 1.

ACerS Southwest Section

The Forrest K. Pence Memorial Scholarship Program 

Scholarship grants will be awarded to students working toward an undergraduate or graduate degree in a four-year program, although consideration will be given to those in a two-year degree/certificate program, providing other criteria are met. Applicants will be required to be sponsored by an active member of the Southwest Section of The American Ceramic Society. Download the application today!

Application deadline is May 1

For information about scholarships, contact Rick Stickley.

The Robert and Mary Buttle Scholarship Fund

The Robert and Mary Buttle Scholarship Fund was established in 1993 to help students finance their college education. An explosion of unthought-of ceramic products and processes within the preceding 50 years created exceptional opportunities for ceramic engineers and scientists. There is particular need for applied and production engineering, as well as scientists.

Students of a recognized two- or four-year program of ceramic engineering or ceramic materials science are invited to apply for a grant from this fund, following successful completion of their first year.  Complete the application and enclose a recommendation from the department head or advisor. Be sure that qualifications are met according to the criteria on the application, listed in order of priority.  Download the application today!  Application deadline is May 1